Seth Godin on the Fear of Being Wrong 錯誤的恐懼

I stumbled upon this post recently and I have to say it has hit me to the core. The post is from Seth Godin’s blog. Below are a few points I like.

最近我發現了這個博客文章,真的刺激到我了。 博客文章是由塞思戈丁,營銷大師。以下幾點是我喜歡的。

The Overwhelming Fear of Being Wrong 錯誤的恐懼              

She didn’t vote because she was afraid her candidate would lose.

她沒有投票,因為她怕她的候選人會輸。

They don’t want to buy insurance for their business because the policies are too complicated and they might buy the wrong one.

他們不想買保險的政策,因為他們的業務過於複雜,他們可能買錯了。

He doesn’t want to buy the book because he might not like it. It’s better to waste two or three hours doing something he’s certainly not going to like instead.

他並不想購買這本書,因為他擔心自己可能不喜歡它。相反,他浪費兩三個小時做一些他肯定不會喜歡做的事情。

Better not to hire a coach or go to a therapist or even pick a doctor, because you might discover that you’ve been doing something wrong.

最好不要聘請教練或去看心理導師或醫生,因為你可能會發現,你已經做錯了。

They sell more wine in places where there aren’t so many wines to choose from, because complicated selection processes make it easier to buy nothing. <– This is the gold!

他們出售更多葡萄酒在少數酒品選擇的餐廳。由於複雜的選擇,使消費者很難買任何東西。

He said fear is the one element every product or service has to overcome.

他說,恐懼是每一個產品或服務有需要克服的一個元素。

I knew of him when my friend recommended one of his books. But it was in my usual search for articles on marketing, social media, and spirituality (wide range….I know), that I came across his blog and this wonderful post. Because my goal is to, within a short amount of time, to learn more about myself, to rid the fear and the ever doubting voice in my head, and to find a job that I want to do that inspires me or simply makes me happy, I always feel like there’s not enough time.

我會知道他因為我的朋友向我推薦他的書。但是,在我平時在網路搜索營銷,社交媒體,和靈性(大範圍….我知道),我找到了他的博客。特別是,我現在想了解更多關於自己,關於恐懼和懷疑的聲音在我腦海裡,還有我也想找到一份我喜歡的工作,我常常覺得我從來沒有足夠的時間。

A lot of us are vying for time, time to do this and do that. Like I’m always discovering new books I want to read/learn from and end up with a long “to read” list. I go into the mode where I fear I’ll waste time, fear that I won’t learn anything new or it won’t help me that I end up not reading as much as I wanted to and actually wasted time. =.=||| ugh….

我們很多人都在爭奪時間。我經常發現想讀的書,結果只是創建了一個很長的閱讀清單。我會進入一種思想,我怕我會浪費時間,擔心我不會學到新東西,擔心這本書會不會以某種程度幫助我,實際上浪費很多時間。=.=|||

After reading this post, I’m able to quickly recognize this about myself:

  1. I’m not reading Spiritual Warrior because I’m afraid that it won’t help me.
  2. I’m not reading The Power of Now because I fear I won’t be changed by it (even though he’s one of Oprah’s favorite teachers on spirituality).

 閱讀博客文章後,我能迅速承認這兩點:

  1. 我不讀書Spiritual Warrior,因為我怕它不會幫助我。
  2. 我不讀當下的力量,因為我怕自己不會被改變(雖然作者是歐普拉最喜歡的心靈保健老師之一)。

The funny thing is I want to read them!!! I could have been finished with one of them by now!!!

好笑的是,我想讀他們!考慮到現在,我早已經讀完了!

The lesson: Don’t waste time thinking.

教訓:不要浪費時間去思考。

Leave a Reply

